Why I don’t use wool.

I always make a point in my listings of the fact that I don’t use animal products in any of my designs. So that means I don’t use wool, leather, feathers or anything else you would get from an animal when I’m making something. I use high quality acrylic or cotton yarn exclusively.

The reasons for this are two fold. Firstly, there is absolutely nothing wrong with acrylic yarn. It’s available in a massive range of vibrant colours, it’s also hardier and easier to care for than wool. There is a rather unfair assumption amongst some circles that ‘acrylic’ means cheap and nasty and that is just not the case. Yes, acrylic yarn from a monetary stand point often costs less than wool, but that doesn’t mean it’s ‘cheap’. There are some beautiful acrylic yarns out there and I have seen some stunning creations made with them. I am very particular about the yarns I use, colour, texture and durability are extremely important to me, I spend a lot of time trawling yarn stores (just ask my long suffering husband) looking for the perfect yarns for my items. More often than not I am spoilt for choice which is why it takes me so long!

Secondly, I want everyone to be able to enjoy my products and that includes vegans, vegetarians and people who have a sensitivity or allergy to wool. I want people to buy from me and know that the item is ok for them to have. I am proud to say that all my yarn-y creations are vegan. I have many vegan friends who I know struggle to find non wooly knit and crochet items so when I decided to set up my store it was really important to me to just remove the guesswork and make everything out of high quality synthetic or cotton yarn, suitable for everybody!

So there you go! That’s why I don’t use wool!

2 thoughts on “Why I don’t use wool.

  1. That’s an interesting post, I’ve never thought of it that way before. Like you I use a lot of man-made yarn as it were, but mainly for the colours and ease if care.
    Good for you! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

